Union & states and Formation of states :

This very chapter is most important in SSC or other government exams

You should also study weekly Current affairs from here

Union &states(Article1 to 4):-

Article-1 :-India that is Bharat (not group of states) is Union of states

Name of states and Union and territories of India.

Article-2 :-Parliament has been given legislative power to, 1)include new states in India and, 2) Power to integrates states

Basically power to Union to Include external states to Union

Article-3 :-  Power to make new states and change in current states of India

Basically, power for internal  readjustments also by this power to delimitation has been given to ventre

Note:-In the above bill Prior recommendation of president is necessary and also there is need of suggestion from the relates state legislature( state legislature recommendation are not compulsory on Union)

Formation of states

On the eve of independence their came a big responsibility of uniting states  which were spread and under different authorities.

Making of states was complex process, you will observe different stages in Uniting states in India.

Process of different committees and stages of states formation

Year Description
1948 :-S.k Dhar committee(under the demand of different states government made a committe)

:-Dhar committee recommendation were not accepted so under pressure a new committee was made Named as J.V.P. Committed(Jawahar Lal Nehru, Vallabh Bhai Patel, Pattabhai Sitaramayaa), submitted report in 1949

1950 There were 29 states, 9 under British India, 9 under Princely states, 10 under Commissioner province and 1 under Andaman&Nicobar
1953 :- In this year a crucial development happened for Telgu speaking people Pottisrimallu died after Hunger strike, so under the pressure government made Andhra Pradesh separating Telgu speaking population from Madras.

:-Fajal Ali Commission(other members were K.M Pannikar and H.N Kunjru)

1956 State Reorganization Commission -7TH Amendment was done

On 1 Nov 1956 there were 14 states and 6 Union territories were declared

1960 Gujarat became 15th state separating from Maharashtra
1963 Nagaland became 16th state separating it from Assam’s Twansang area
1966 Shah Commission was made:- Haryana became 17th state
1971 Himachal Pardesh became 18th states
1972 Manipur, Tripura, Meghalaya were made 19th and 20 and 21st states respectively
1975 Sikkim was made 22nd state before it was associate state 10th schedule than Plebiscite was done for including under state -35th Amendment was done later 36th amendment
1987 Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Goa were made 23rd, 24th and 25th state respectively
2000 Chhattisgarh, Uttrakhand and Jharkhand were made 26th and 27th and 28th respectively


29th state as You all know Telangana

You should also study Polity other articles here:-

Making of constitution facts to rememberKnow all about preamble

Judiciary and Tax system

Various constitutional bodies

All about governor and Parliament

Features of Indian constitution


Thank you and all the best,

Attempt Free Mock Tests & Get Free eBooks

SBI Clerk 2023 Free Mock Tests – Attempt Free Here
SBI PO Mains 2023 Free Mock Tests – Attempt Free Here
IBPS PO Mains 2023 Free Mock Tests – Attempt Free Here
Free Current Affairs Test & Monthly Free eBook 2023 – Click Here
Download Free Ixammr Exam Preparation App By Let’s Study Together (LST)