Taiwan President Tsai Ing-wen Begins Her Second Term
Taiwan President Tsai Ing-wen Begins Her Second Term

Taiwan President Tsai Ing-wen Begins Her Second Term

  • Taiwan President Tsai Ing-wen took the oath for her second four-year term on Wednesday, buoyed by record-high popularity as the country continues its successful response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Tsai also pledged to engage in dialogue with Beijing provided it respects Taiwan’s sovereignty and rejects its “one country, two systems” formula, reiterating the cross-strait stance that fueled her landslide re-election victory in January.
  • In a scaled-down inauguration ceremony at which a limited number of participants practiced social distancing, Tsai praised the resilience of the Taiwanese people in dealing with the coronavirus.
  • The BJP MPs were among the 92 dignitaries from 41 countries who had a virtual presence at the ceremony as foreign visitors are banned in Taiwan in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Back in 2016, when Tsai was elected to her first term, the Indian government had decided against sending its MPs to Taiwan for the inaugural ceremony. This time around, the BJP MPs were also joined by Sohang Sen, the acting director-general of India-Taipei Association, who represented India at the ceremony in Taipei. India does not have an official diplomatic establishment in Taiwan, the same as 179 of the 194 United Nations members.
  • Taiwanese President, Lekhi and Kaswan highlighted on India and Taiwan’s shared belief in democratic values. – “Both India and Taiwan are democratic countries, bonded by shared values of freedom, democracy and respect for human rights. Over the past years, India and Taiwan have enhanced bilateral relations enormously in wide-ranging areas, especially trade, investment and people to people exchanges,” said the two MPs during their video message

About Taiwan-

  • Taiwan, officially the Republic of China, is a state in East Asia. Neighbouring states include the People’s Republic of China to the north-west, Japan to the north-east, and the Philippines to the south.
  • Capital – Taipei
  • Currency– New Taiwan dollar
  • President – Tsai Ing-wen
  • Vice President – Lai Ching-te

 जीके और दैनिक करेंट अफेयर्स अपडेट हिंदी में प्राप्त करें – क्लिक करें