Australia and New Zealand Will Host 2023 Women’s World Cup
Australia and New Zealand Will Host 2023 Women’s World Cup
  • Australia and New Zealand will co-host the Women’s World Cup in 2023, with the following edition possibly set to take place just two years later.
  • The joint bid beat Colombia 22-13 in a vote Thursday by FIFA’s ruling council, which judged them as having the best commercial prospects for women’s soccer.
  • FIFA President Gianni Infantino was one of the members who voted for Australia and New Zealand to stage the first 32-team Women’s World Cup, then revived a suggestion aired at last year’s tournament in France to stage it every two years instead of every four years.
  • “We need to boost women’s football,” Infantino told reporters from FIFA’s headquarters in Zurich. If you have to wait four years all the time, maybe it’s a bit long.”
  • FIFA’s decision means South America is still waiting to host its first Women’s World Cup, a tournament that was first played in 1991.
  • The 2023 tournament will be the first time a World Cup for men or women will be shared across two countries from different FIFA confederations. Australia is a member of Asia’s soccer body and New Zealand is in the Oceania group. It is also the first co-hosted women’s edition.
  • Both Australia, the No. 7-ranked team in women’s soccer, and No. 23 New Zealand will qualify automatically for the tournament.
  • At least USD 100 million is expected to be paid by FIFA in 2023 for prize money, team preparation costs and to clubs releasing players for the tournament.

About FIFA-

FIFA is a non-profit organization which describes itself as an international governing body of association football, fútsal, beach soccer, and efootball. It is the highest governing body of football.

  • Founded– 21 May 1904
  • Headquarters– Zürich, Switzerland
  • President– Gianni Infantino
  • Secretary General– Fatma Samba Diouf Samoura

 जीके और दैनिक करेंट अफेयर्स अपडेट हिंदी में प्राप्त करें – क्लिक करें